Size : 38.6 GiB (41444845691 Bytes)

Supertramp - Live In Paris '79

Genre: Progressive rock, pop rock, art rock
Length: 01:40:31
Release Year: 2012
Publisher: Eagle Rock Entertainment

Description : Transferred and restored from the original 16mm film, remixed from the original multi-tracks, presented in both stereo and 5.1 surround sound. Track list: School, Bloody Well Right, The Logical Song, Goodbye Stranger, Breakfast In America, Hide In Your Shell, Asylum, Even In The Quietest Moments, Give A Little Bit, Dreamer, Rudy, Take The Long Way Home, Another Man’s Woman, Child Of Vision, Fool’s Overture, Two Of Us, Crime Of The Century, From Now On; Bonus tracks (featuring remixed audio with newly created visuals): Ain’t Nobody But Me, You Started Laughing (When I Held You In My Arms), A Soap Box Opera, From Now On, Downstream

1 Introduction
2 School
3 Bloody Well Right
4 The Logical Song
5 Goodbye Stranger
6 Breakfast In America
7 Hide In Your Shell
8 Asylum
9 Even In The Quietest Moments
10 Give A Little Bit
11 Dreamer
12 Rudy
13 Take The Long Way Home
14 Another Man s Woman
15 Child Of Vision
16 Fool s Overture
17 Two Of Us
18 Crime Of The Century
19 From Now On (credits)
Bonus Tracks Featuring Remixed Audio With Newly Created Visuals
- Ain't Nobody But Me
- You Started Laughing (When I Help You In My Arms)
- A Soap Box Opera
- From Now On
- Downstream

Type of media: Blu-ray
Video Format: H.264
Audio codec: DTS
Video Codec+Bitrate: MPEG-4 AVC 29917 kbps / 1080p / 24 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1
Audio 1: English DTS-HD MA 5.1 / 96 kHz / 7734 kbps / 24-bit (DTS Core: 6.1 / 48 kHz / 1509 kbps / 24-bit)
Audio 2: English LPCM 2.0 / 96 kHz / 4608 kbps / 24-bit
Supertramp - Live In Paris 1979 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)

Supertramp's seventh album entitled Paris was released in October of 1980.
Now, a Blu-Ray (and DVD) has been released of the classic Supertramp performances from Paris in December of 1979 called Supertramp Live in Paris 1979.
The film was shot and recorded in December of 1979 in Paris, France at the Pavillion on the penultimate night of the band's Breakfast in America European tour. Supertramp Live in Paris is a superb concert film, capturing the band at the peak of their popularity when co-leader/guitarist/singer/keyboard player/songwriter Roger Hodgson was still with the group. When you consider that the possibility of Hodgson returning to Supertramp these days very doubtful, Paris becomes an extremely important live document of the classic lineup of the band, indeed. This concert film had been fabled for years and no footage had been officially released (aside "The Logical Song" and "Dreamer" as promo films) it wasn't until the master tapes of the December 1, 1979 performance were discovered in drummer Bob Siebenberg's barn in cow dung. Then longtime producer Peter Henderson and old concert sound engineer Russell Pope (whom produced the original album) painstakingly restored and transferred the audio from analog to digital and brilliantly mixed the audio. Then Peter Clifton (the same man who finished Led Zeppelin's The Song Remains the Same after Joe Massot bailed) salvaged the footage shot by Derek Burbidge (who filmed much of The Police's promo videos in the day) and added some bits to round out the film. What is available is a superb document of the classic Supertramp lineup.
Many great Supertramp classics are included in this live concert film, such as most of 1974's grand breakthrough Crime of the Century (the spirited opener "School", a slightly extended "Bloody Well Right", an excellent "Hide in Your Shell", a superb "Asylum', the Top 20 hit "Dreamer", a superb "Rudy" and the closing "Crime of the Century" which closes this live concert film), two songs from 1975's highly underrated followup Crisis? What Crisis? ("Another Man's Woman" and "Two of Us" both superior to studio versions), three from 1977's Gold selling US breakthrough Even in the Quietest Moments (the title cut, "Give a Little Bit" and the best version of "Fool's Overture" ever which has an ending that is to be seen to believe), and half of the #1 Multi-Platinum selling Breakfast in America (the monster hit "The Logical Song", the hit "Goodbye Stranger", the title cut, the Top 20 smash "Take The Long Way Home" and the epic closer "Child of Vision").
Hodgson and co-leader/keyboardist/singer/songwriter Rick Davies sing their hearts out and play their respective keyboards with great passion, and Hodgson also serves up some incredible fretwork on the guitar. Co-horts John Helliwell on saxophones/clarinets/occasional keyboards and additional backing vocals, drummer Bob C. Benberg and bass player Dougie Thomson have terrific interplay with Hodgson and Davies, helping to bring the band's great melodic music to life in tremendous fashion. Just like on their studio albums, the band totally cook live in concert, too. The songs on here rival their studio counterparts, especially on Rudy which is sped at faster speed than the studio version on the Roger/Rick vocal duel section and the visuals of the backdrop films are superb.
The songs that weren't shot for the film which were recorded ("Ain't Nobody But Me", "You Started Laughing", "Downstream", "A Soapbox Opera" and "From Now On") are here as bonus tracks with visuals created specifically for the DVD/Blu-Ray.
Also, much to Roger Hodgson's chagrin, the songwriting credits are printed on the back of the Blu-Ray (may not have been there on the first issue) and the Supertramp fans are just grateful that this classic document of the band's peak is FINALLY AVAILABLE!!!
Highly recommended!